1111Palazzo ZaguriPalazzo Zaguri housed some of the most prestigious Venetian families over the centuries. The first records date back to 1353, when it was partly sold to the Cavallo family. Among the most important owners during the 15th century there were rich silk merchants belonging to the Pasqualini family portrayed by the greatest painters of all time: from Giorgione to Antonello da Messina. Palazzo Zaguri hosted sumptuous feasts which saw the participation of aristocrats and rulers. The Priuli family, related to Doge Andrea Vendramin and the secretary of the dreaded Council of Ten, Pietro Pellegrini, later purchased part of the palace. Pietro's father was a well-known collector: he brought over thirty statues to the palace and commissioned works from local artists including Alessandro Vittoria (Trento 1525 - Venice 1608) who produced a bust now housed in the Vicenza Civic Museum. Tintoretto himself depicted members of the Priuli family. Later the palace was bought by the Zaguri family. Among the last members of the family there was Peter I (1733-1806) who designed and financed the facade of the Church of San Maurizio and was a friend and protector of Giacomo Casanova and Lorenzo Da Ponte, both of whom stayed at Ca’ Zaguri. In the 18th century, on the ground floor of the building, spaces were rented for such activities as coffee shops, trendy zingy drinks, the sale of tobacco and spices (pharmacies). The venue of the Congregation of Vicenza and subsequently the seat of a school, the building was abandoned in time. After an important restoration it is now an important exhibition venue.
The exhibition "From Kandinsky to Botero. All in one thread" will open its doors on November 1st at Palazzo Zaguri in Campo San Maurizio. An international event, an exceptionally unique exhibition with an extraordinary testimonial of the Italian artistic and cultural scene, Vittorio Sgarbi, narrating, through the free audio guides available to visitors, a never before experienced journey where artistic expression, craftsmanship and school find - in the art of tapestry - the most precious and ancient expression which, at the same time, has never been so contemporary. One hundred tapestries will be on display in the four floors of the Venetian palace, most of them coming from one of the last active Italian tapestry weaving mills: the one founded in 1960 by Ugo Scassa, whose dream, never fulfilled in life, was to exhibit its production in Venice.Hours
From 1st November, every day except Monday, from 10.00 a.m. to 7.00 p.m. (last entrance at 6.00 p.m.) Contacts
From Kandinsky to Botero. All in one thread Palazzo Zaguri Campo San Maurizio, Venezia Return to Museums